Overwrite existing backup file

Asked by David Paxton on 2019-04-06

Attempting to repeat a backup, when a backup has already been taken that day presents a panel advising the user that a backup file of this name exists and continuing with the backup will overwrite the old one. Very sensible, however there appears to be no option to continue, only to cancel. I would have expected a Yes/No/Cancel option.
Is this intentional?
I appreciate that the user can change the filename at the top of the main backup dialog panel, but overwriting may be preferable.

Question information

Language:
English Edit question
Status:
Solved
For:
RedNotebook Edit question
Assignee:
No assignee Edit question
Solved by:
Jendrik Seipp
Solved:
2019-04-16
Last query:
2019-04-16
Last reply:
2019-04-15
Jendrik Seipp (jendrikseipp) said : #1

I can't reproduce the reported behaviour on Linux using RedNotebook 2.11. For me, it works exactly as you propose it should. Which OS and RedNotebook version are you using? Can you provide a screenshot?

David Paxton (davepaxton) said : #2

Sorry for response delay.
Using RedNoteBook version 2.11 on Windows 7 professional 64 bit.
When presented with the panel advising the user that a backup file of this name exists the cancel "button" widget extends right across the width of the panel with no space (and hence no other Yes/No options) on either side of it

David Paxton (davepaxton) said : #3

Just for the record the same thing happens on version 2.8 running on another machine with windows 7 64 bit

I can confirm I can see the same thing.

https://pasteboard.co/I9tvcdv.png

Jendrik Seipp (jendrikseipp) said : #5

On 10.04.19 12:28, David Paxton wrote:
> Question #679801 on RedNotebook changed:
> https://answers.launchpad.net/rednotebook/+question/679801
>
> Status: Answered => Open
>
> David Paxton is still having a problem:
> Sorry for response delay.
> Using RedNoteBook version 2.11 on Windows 7 professional 64 bit.
> When presented with the panel advising the user that a backup file of this name exists the cancel "button" widget extends right across the width of the panel with no space (and hence no other Yes/No options) on either side of it
>
Could you send me a screenshot of this, please?

I did:

https://pasteboard.co/I9tvcdv.png

On Wed, 10 Apr 2019, 23:18 Jendrik Seipp, <
<email address hidden>> wrote:

> Question #679801 on RedNotebook changed:
> https://answers.launchpad.net/rednotebook/+question/679801
>
> Status: Open => Answered
>
> Jendrik Seipp proposed the following answer:
> On 10.04.19 12:28, David Paxton wrote:
> > Question #679801 on RedNotebook changed:
> > https://answers.launchpad.net/rednotebook/+question/679801
> >
> > Status: Answered => Open
> >
> > David Paxton is still having a problem:
> > Sorry for response delay.
> > Using RedNoteBook version 2.11 on Windows 7 professional 64 bit.
> > When presented with the panel advising the user that a backup file of
> this name exists the cancel "button" widget extends right across the width
> of the panel with no space (and hence no other Yes/No options) on either
> side of it
> >
> Could you send me a screenshot of this, please?
>
> --
> You received this question notification because you are an answer
> contact for RedNotebook.
>

David Paxton (davepaxton) said : #7

Just to confirm, the panel that I am presented with is identical to that of the screenshot posted by Alistair Marshall.

Best Jendrik Seipp (jendrikseipp) said : #8

I think this will be fixed automatically once the Windows binary uses a
newer GTK version. For now, I recommend deleting unwanted backup files
manually.

David Paxton (davepaxton) said : #9

OK understood, I anticipated a GTK problem. Disappointing though if this type of problem is likely to continue.