Does modifying synced files on one machine update the file on all synced computers?

Asked by dan retson on 2010-08-05

I want to use Ubuntu one to store material for work. I'm syncing all the files I want to work on. Then I intend to make chances to files on one computer and then continue working on that file at home on another computer and then back again and I want to use Ubuntu one to make this possible.

Before I start I really don't want to lose any data, and I want every computer to have the same and most recent version of my files in my Ubuntu One folder.

So my question is,

When I make changes on one computer, does Ubuntu One modify the synced file on every synced computer's HD? Or does it only update the cloud file. If it only changes the cloud file, what happens to the cloud file when the files with the same name on my two computers both hooked up to Ubuntu one are different?

Sorry for all the questions but I really don't understand how Ubuntu one keeps syncing between machines and I want to prevent data loss.

thanks

Dan

Question information

Language:
English Edit question
Status:
Answered
For:
Ubuntu One Client Edit question
Assignee:
No assignee Edit question
Last query:
2010-08-05
Last reply:
2010-08-06
Duane Hinnen (duanedesign) said : #1

Ubuntu One will sync data across all the machines you have added to your Ubuntu One account. If you change a file on Computer A that file will be updated on the cloud and on Computer B. This sync works both ways, to and from the cloud. So if you upload a file to the cloud through the web interface it will appear on Computer A and Computer B. If there is a conflict it will save both files and let the user decide which to keep instead of making that decision for you.

thank you,
duanedesign

Can you help with this problem?

Provide an answer of your own, or ask dan retson for more information if necessary.

To post a message you must log in.