How to disable warning message when deleting files?

Asked by Morten Hansen on 2012-10-17

Hello! (sorry for my english - I'm from Denmark...)

I'm using Ubuntu 12.04 with Xfce...

When I delete files in "Thunar-filemanager" I did not get af "messagebox"
"Are you sure you want to delete xxxx.xxxx?" The file did just being delete and being put to the trash?

Is it not possible to get a message like this somehow?

Question information

Language:
English Edit question
Status:
Solved
For:
Ubuntu thunar Edit question
Assignee:
No assignee Edit question
Solved by:
Miha Gašperšič
Solved:
2012-10-18
Last query:
2012-10-18
Last reply:
2012-10-17

Hi Morten,

Ubuntu 12.04 by default does not ask you for confirmation of selected file to delete. It's immediately moved to trash. You can reveal your deleted file by going to your trash directory or simply click on trash icon on your desktop.

This thread also explains how to enable confirmation dialogue. Follow steps described inside and you could solve your problem.
Link: http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1978365

If this helps you solve your question somehow, please mark thread as solved.

Regards,
Miha

Morten Hansen (mshh80) said : #2

Thanks... but as I wrote - I'm not using the regular Ubuntu but 12.04 with Xfce.
... therefore I did not have this "Nautilis" which they describes in the link.

My filebrowser is Thunar - and did not see that have the oportunities to change it to show the warning.

So my question is - how did I do you another way around - could I maybe use the terminal to get these warnings?

If yes... I would like to get a terminal-description - STEP BY STEP

XFCE uses Thunar by default, not nautilus.

I suggest report a bug

Morten Hansen (mshh80) said : #5

I think I would close the question and accept the answer from Miha...
I don't want to use so much time on this problem - when it is so small....

I had hopped that the solution was very simpel. :-)

Morten Hansen (mshh80) said : #6

Thanks Miha Gašperšič, that solved my question.