No warning given before oem-config-gtk erases data

Asked by Luiz Sudbrack on 2010-10-08

I work at an organzation that gives away used computers with ubuntu on them. We distribute Ubuntu with oem-config-gtk. Many customers press "prepare for shipping to end user" to run the script after having amassed a significant amount of data. Can there be a warning popup that this will occur added before passing the point of no return?

Question information

Language:
English Edit question
Status:
Answered
For:
Ubuntu oem-config Edit question
Assignee:
No assignee Edit question
Last query:
2010-10-08
Last reply:
2010-10-08
Thomas Kr├╝ger (thkrueger) said : #1

oem-config-tk and oem-config are tools that are not intended for end customers use. They should not be shipped to the customers. Please remove them before giving the computers out.
Also remember that this tools are made for bulk usage, if there would be a warning for every operation that changes data it would require far more time and presens of an IT professional.

Can you help with this problem?

Provide an answer of your own, or ask Luiz Sudbrack for more information if necessary.

To post a message you must log in.