Why even unconfigured SSIDs are remembered?

Asked by e633 on 2014-08-30

Clicked the wrong SSID i wanted to connect to, didn't enter any password and simply canceled the dialog but later i found that same SSID in my SSID list, as if i've ever connected to it or configured it in some way. I find this behaviour highly undesirable as it clutters network-manager and also because it is basically useless. Unless i'm missing something!

Question information

Language:
English Edit question
Status:
Answered
For:
Ubuntu network-manager Edit question
Assignee:
No assignee Edit question
Last query:
2014-08-30
Last reply:
2014-08-30

You can remove wireless networks from Network Manager. They are not permanent

Thomas Kr├╝ger (thkrueger) said : #2

Simple: At the moment the password is requested the Service Set (the first the characters of SSID) has to be configured already. The password is sent in part 3 of the 3 way handshake if requested only. But to start the process you need a connection profile for the SSID configured.
Or in other word: it needs the configuration profile long before you are asked for the password.

Deleting it in case of a wrong password entry would be dangerous. A temporary problem (like a password mismatch) must not do any permanent data change.
Imagine someone changing his companies password and when his laptop tries to connect the WiFi profile is deleted. Wouldn't be good.

e633 (e633) said : #3

Ok got it but in my specific scenario (immediately clicking Cancel thus showing NO INTEREST in connecting to that SSID) i still think it makes no sense to remember the SSID. Anyway, thanks for your answers.

Can you help with this problem?

Provide an answer of your own, or ask e633 for more information if necessary.

To post a message you must log in.