How can I completely delete user config?

Asked by Lesley Walker on 2007-10-25

I'm trying to get my Kopete working again after various crashings. I have purged and reinstalled the package and it hasn't helped.

How can I completely get rid of my user configuration to let it start again as if completely new? I don't want to lose my entire .kde, just the parts that relate to Kopete.

Question information

Language:
English Edit question
Status:
Answered
For:
Ubuntu kopete Edit question
Assignee:
No assignee Edit question
Last query:
2007-10-26
Last reply:
2007-10-30
Nick Cronin (quintok) said : #1

$sudo apt-get purge kopete
that should clean as much as apt can do. There will most likely be some settings it won't remove in ~/.kde/, I don't know directly where kopete puts it's user specific stuff. I'm a bit rusty on kde but I'm certain it will be in your home folder somewhere.

Lesley Walker (lrw) said : #2

Thanks, I assume that was covered when I used "mark for complete removal" in Synaptic. It's just the user-specific bits I'm looking for help with.

Harald Sitter (apachelogger) said : #3

rm -rf ~/.kde/share/apps/kopete*
rm -rf ~/.kde/share/config/kopete*

The first deletes all kopete caches, contactlist etc.
The second deletes the actual configurations.

Lesley Walker (lrw) said : #4

I don't think I ever got it working properly but I gave up trying to use Kopete.

Can you help with this problem?

Provide an answer of your own, or ask Lesley Walker for more information if necessary.

To post a message you must log in.