I deleted my main user account, how can I set ubuntu to not automatically log into with that old user account?

Asked by conzeit on 2011-09-16

Ok, so I hadnt used Ubuntu since Lucid Lynx, because it had become slow. Now I went in, updated to Narwhal and I saw that some programs were still slow, so I created a new User account , I set that new account to be an admin and deleted the old admin User account, thinking nothing would go wrong because I'm used to doing this in Windows.

Now whenever I boot it automatically logs in to the OLD user account without giving me the option to log into the new user account and gives me the following string of errors (I replace the name of the user account with olduser for convenience)

cant update ICE authority/home/olduser/.ICEauthority problem with configuration server

(/usr/lib/libgconf2-4/gconf-sanity-check-2 exited with status 256)

Nautilus could not create the following required folders:/home/olduser/desktop,/home/olduser/.nautilus,

Afterwards Ubuntu shows me the default desktop image and nothing else. The only way to get out of this for me has been to wait for the screensaver to appear, and use the unlock dialoge to switch to my new user account. That is how I booted and how I'm writing now but clearly I'd like to boot more normally, how can I set ubuntu to log into my new user account instead of the old user account?

Question information

Language:
English Edit question
Status:
Solved
For:
Ubuntu gnome-system-tools Edit question
Assignee:
No assignee Edit question
Solved by:
actionparsnip
Solved:
2011-09-16
Last query:
2011-09-16
Last reply:
2011-09-16

log in to root recovery mode and then su:

su newusername

obviously change the username to the AC TUAL username you made, then run:

startx

You will now get a GUI desktop and you can change the login screen to log in as the new user. Reboot the system and you should autologin as the new user

conzeit (camarcabz) said : #2

Thanks actionparsnip, that solved my question.