Closing after failed or cancelled installation

Asked by Matt Geeraets on 2008-07-15

Hi,

First, this app is great. I find it a lot easier to use than synaptic, and the popularity function is fantastic.

I'm not sure if this is the right place to ask, but is there a way to stop the program exiting if I cancel installing a package, or when a package(s) install successfully?

I'm running Ubuntu 8.04.1 AMD64, however I have found that it happens across all the latest versions of Hardy.

If there is no way to do this, that's fine; however, it maybe a good idea to add this to a future release?

Ideally, I'd like to be able to install some packages, then carry on browsing the repository, like Synaptic does.

Thanks

M

Question information

Language:
English Edit question
Status:
Answered
For:
Ubuntu gnome-app-install Edit question
Assignee:
No assignee Edit question
Last query:
2008-07-15
Last reply:
2008-07-15
Gabriel Ruiz (anakron) said : #1

I cant understand your question. If yo want to close a program...close it clicking in cancel...

Sorry,

I'll try to be a bit clearer.

When I open up the add/remove application from the Gnome/Ubuntu menu, search for a package I'd like to install, tick the box, then click 'Apply', it will run apt and complete the installation.

After the installation is complete, a dialog box shows up that states:

"the following applications installed successfully"

This box has a list of the application(s) that have just been installed.

The options - as far as I can tell (correct me if I'm doing something wrong) are:

1) double-click the program entry to launch it
2) the only other button is 'Close' with a red X next to it, located to the lower right of the dialog box

When you press 'Close', instead of closing the dialog box as you would expect it to and dropping you back to the list of packages (similar to synaptic), the program (gnome-app-install) exits completely, and it has to be opened again from the menu.

This goes the same for when I cancel an installation. Here's an example:

1) open up add/remove programs
2) search for package
3) tick the box to install it. Then, I realise that it's a 300mb download, so I press 'Cancel' (bandwidth is expensive :o))
4) the program takes me back to the package list, then a dialog box (similar to the above example) pops up, advising that the installation failed. This dialog box has the same 'Close' button, that, if pressed, will exit the package manager, and drop you back to the desktop.

It would be great if the program didn't exit under these conditions; instead, it should drop you back to the package manager, and you can close it from there, if you wish, or carry on browsing packages.

Please advise me if there is a way around this (i.e, if I'm not supposed to click close). If not, please take it as a suggestion for the next version :o)

M

Gabriel Ruiz (anakron) said : #3

You must click on Add/Remove more applications....When you click on close is for closing the entire application. Its the same if you close it at the X on the corner.

Bye!!!

Can you help with this problem?

Provide an answer of your own, or ask Matt Geeraets for more information if necessary.

To post a message you must log in.