How to authorize users in Empathy?

Asked by Elvis on 2011-10-24

Every time I start Empathy (3.2.0), I get a notification that "<email> would like permission to see when you are online".

So, I'd think someone has tried to add me to their contact list, and would love to see their details and authorize/add them if applicable, but I can't find that option anywhere.

Now, am I missing something? Is my install broken (fresh install of Ubuntu Oneiric 11.10)? Or is this pretty essential option simply not present in Empathy?

Many thanks to whoever can clear up the mystery :-)

Question information

Language:
English Edit question
Status:
Answered
For:
Ubuntu empathy Edit question
Assignee:
No assignee Edit question
Last query:
2011-12-11
Last reply:
2012-01-02
nevelis (nevelis) said : #1

So you're not the only one puzzled by this? How do I accept the contact request??

Launchpad Janitor (janitor) said : #2

This question was expired because it remained in the 'Open' state without activity for the last 15 days.

Elvis (elvis-willems) said : #3

Re-opening because I still need an answer...

Launchpad Janitor (janitor) said : #4

This question was expired because it remained in the 'Open' state without activity for the last 15 days.

Elvis (elvis-willems) said : #5

Re-opening again, since this is still a problem. Should I file a bug?

I'm experiencing the same issue. Every time start up Empathy, I get a bunch of these messages with no way to accept or clear them.

Dmitry Maruschenko (yojick) said : #7

I have the same question.

Launchpad Janitor (janitor) said : #8

This question was expired because it remained in the 'Open' state without activity for the last 15 days.

Elvis (elvis-willems) said : #9

Strange that this question keeps expiring. It seems like very basic functionality for an application which is used by default in Ubuntu...

Teutates (jjjk) said : #10

Took me a while, but the request will appear as a contact in your contact list. Make sure you can see all the contacts. Search with ctrl+f if you have to. You can authorize it by double-clicking it or right-clicking and then some menu item... I forgot. But once you see the contact, you'll find a way.

tamalet (tamalet) said : #11

As Teutates says, it will appear as a notification in your contact, but first you have to add that contact.
So I guess that if you don't want to add that contact you have to put it on the Blocked Contacts.

anewman (alan-an1) said : #12

Annoyed by this also. Should be a simple case of add or ignore. Think I might move to Pidgin seeing as this bug is still there months later.

tibi (tibi-dds) said : #13

i have the same problem.

the user is not in the list so i can't add or aprove anything.

tibi (tibi-dds) said : #14

i closed empathy opened pidgen there got the accept message and accepted there fine.

Can you help with this problem?

Provide an answer of your own, or ask Elvis for more information if necessary.

To post a message you must log in.