What is "system setting" in network manager and why is there no documentation?

Asked by Phoenix on 2008-12-29

There is a checkbox "system setting" in the network manager, but there is no help or information available what it is good for and how it works.

Question information

Language:
English Edit question
Status:
Solved
For:
Ubuntu network-manager Edit question
Assignee:
No assignee Edit question
Solved by:
Phoenix
Solved:
2009-01-02
Last query:
2009-01-02
Last reply:
2008-12-31
Jacob Peddicord (jpeddicord) said : #1

Thank you for taking the time to report this issue and helping to make Ubuntu better. Examining the information you have given us, this does not appear to be a bug report so we are closing it and converting it to a question in the support tracker. We appreciate the difficulties you are facing, but it would make more sense to raise problems you are having in the support tracker at https://answers.launchpad.net/ubuntu if you are uncertain if they are bugs. For help on reporting bugs, see https://help.ubuntu.com/community/ReportingBugs#When%20not%20to%20file%20a%20bug.

Jacob Peddicord (jpeddicord) said : #2

What version of Ubuntu (or network-manager) are you using, and where exactly do you see this option? I am unable to find it here.

Phoenix (phoenix-dominion) said : #3

I use 8.10 and have added a screenshot to the bug right now, which shows the checkbox

Jacob Peddicord (jpeddicord) said : #4

Ah, okay. The System Setting sets the default network for your system, which I would assume is used when no user is logged on to connect to the network. The feature is described here:

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/NetworkManager0.7 under the section "Creating/Modifying a User connection"

Phoenix (phoenix-dominion) said : #5

Thanks, the Wiki describes it pretty well.

The setting basically moves the connection from the post-login level to the boot-up level - IIRC the way it was pre-NetworkManager aera.

IMHO you can actually have multiple "system wide" network connections, as it does not define the default network but rather the point in time the system brings the connection up.

Though, I consider the wording rather bad, nevertheless there is no documentation that mentions the setting within GNOME or any tooltip, which I consider a bug, so I converted the Answer back to a bug, in hop, that it get's fixed - in term of usability polishing rather bug fixing.

Thanks

Phoenix (phoenix-dominion) said : #6

I further tested it, and though I am able to mark the checkbox and save the settings it won't be saved, which is quite a sad thing.