Security issue? graphical logout doesn't close tty login

Asked by Alf Haakon Lund on 2014-01-20

Ubuntu Studio (xubuntu) 13.10 64-bit

On a troubleshooting quest I created a new user with admin rights. After graphical login I opened a terminal through CTRL-ALT-F3. When finished I did ALT-F7 and logged out (power button, log out).

Then I logged in as my regular user and ran CTRL-ALT-F3 again. This opened the previous session, with the new user still logged in, active, and enabled to pass commands.

This behaviour was unexpected to me - I expected logout to close terminals as well - and looks like a possible security issue. Shouldn't (graphical) logout close all open sessions?

Question information

English Edit question
Ubuntu Edit question
No assignee Edit question
Solved by:
Last query:
Last reply:

Yes as TTY3 which you are switching to is logged in as your user. This is completely expected. You need to log off the TTY3 just like you did in the GUI session. They are completely separate. Logging in and out of on e TTY (TTY7 for the GUI session) bears no connection with the other 6 TTYs your system has.

If you want, you can run:

killall -u $USER and all the processes and logins on ALL TTYs will be killed off.

Alf Haakon Lund (alf-c) said : #2

Thanks actionparsnip, that solved my question.