At install, does choosing "side by side" option delete any data in XP OS?

Asked by Coletek

I'm installing Ubuntu from the desktop icon. I've chosen the option "install side by side..." and choose the OS at each boot.

I'm at the last step which includes a disclaimer that the install may erase things. My question is, can anyone confirm if I choose this "side by side" install option, will any of my data saved in the XP OS partitions be deleted? I was not expecting to see that with th eoptin i chose. Thx for any insight.

Coletek

Question information

Language:
English Edit question
Status:
Solved
For:
Ubuntu Edit question
Assignee:
No assignee Edit question
Solved by:
Ryan Kavanagh
Solved:
Last query:
Last reply:
Revision history for this message
Best Ryan Kavanagh (ryanakca) said :
#1

I shouldn't erase any data, only shrink your Windows XP partition and install Ubuntu beside it. You should however remember that ubiquity (the Ubuntu installer) is licensed under the GPL (version 2), which among other things states that:

    This program is distributed in the hope that it will be useful,
    but WITHOUT ANY WARRANTY; without even the implied warranty of
    MERCHANTABILITY or FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE. See the
    GNU General Public License for more details.

You can read the full license at http://www.gnu.org/licenses/gpl-2.0.html .

In other words, better safe than sorry, backup all of your data in case something goes wrong, but you'll most likely be fine.

Cheers,
Ryan

Revision history for this message
Coletek (coletek1) said :
#2

Thx Ryan, will do.

Coletek