what happens to remote notes if I "clear local" ?

Asked by David B on 2012-11-11

My notes fail to sync due to problem with time format, see bug #1064149. I note that there is a tomdroid tool (under settings) that lets me "clear local". I'd really like to delete all notes from my android device and resyncronise. Then at least I could keep working in read only mode. There is an tool under settings called "clear local", after using that and syronising, will tomdroid pull down fresh copies of the notes from the server (Ubuntu One) or will it delete the server notes for me ? The latter would be a very bad news for me and I don't want to risk that happening.

Thanks for any advise
David

Question information

Language:
English Edit question
Status:
Solved
For:
Tomdroid Edit question
Assignee:
No assignee Edit question
Solved by:
David B
Solved:
2012-11-11
Last query:
2012-11-11
Last reply:
2012-11-11
Stefan Hammer (j-4) said : #1

Hi!
"Clear local" deletes your local database and on next sync all the notes from the server are pulled to the device again. Just like un- and reinstalling the app.
However, I would always recommend to make backups of your notes first, as you are using beta software which is everything else than stable and tested ;-)
Do you know how to backup your notes?

Cheers,
Stefan

David B (d-bannon) said : #2

Thanks Stefan, I have grabbed a tarball of the notes directory on the linux box. I don't know any better way to backup Tomboy I must admit, been a bit uncomfortable about that !

I get the idea the official view is you don't backup, you syncronize. So you have to mess with the sync settings and I have had bad experiences with that in the past !

David

.

Stefan Hammer <email address hidden> wrote:

>Your question #213884 on Tomdroid changed:
>https://answers.launchpad.net/tomdroid/+question/213884
>
> Status: Open => Answered
>
>Stefan Hammer proposed the following answer:
>Hi!
>"Clear local" deletes your local database and on next sync all the notes from the server are pulled to the device again. Just like un- and reinstalling the app.
>However, I would always recommend to make backups of your notes first, as you are using beta software which is everything else than stable and tested ;-)
>Do you know how to backup your notes?
>
>Cheers,
>Stefan
>
>--
>If this answers your question, please go to the following page to let us
>know that it is solved:
>https://answers.launchpad.net/tomdroid/+question/213884/+confirm?answer_id=0
>
>If you still need help, you can reply to this email or go to the
>following page to enter your feedback:
>https://answers.launchpad.net/tomdroid/+question/213884
>
>You received this question notification because you asked the question.

Stefan Hammer (j-4) said : #3

You did the right thing. Just make a copy of (on linux) ~/.local/share/tomboy and all your notes are save! However, Tomboy also keeps all notes (also the deleted ones) always in a separate backup-folder (~/.local/share/tomboy/backup). So you notes will never be lost (also not the deleted ones :-D )

Cheers

David B (d-bannon) said : #4

Thanks Stefan, the synce filed after the 'clean' but buy deleting the offending notes (as revealed in the logs) I got it to work eventually. I'll append the details to th bug report
David