how do I undelete packages from my ppa?

Asked by Philip Ashmore on 2012-07-13

I encountered a compilation problem with my cxxparse package which I corrected.
I deleted the old version and v3c-storyboard, which depends on cxxparse (and other packages in my PPA) from the ppa.

Now I've fixed cxxparse, I now relise that v3c-storyboard needs no changes.

How can I cancel/abort the deletion of v3c-storyboard?

I can't re-upload it without making changes, which is unnecessary.

Question information

Language:
English Edit question
Status:
Answered
For:
Launchpad itself Edit question
Assignee:
No assignee Edit question
Last query:
2012-07-17
Last reply:
2012-07-17
Laura Czajkowski (czajkowski) said : #1

Hi that is not possible, you will need to re upload the packages again.

I just tried to re-upload it:
$ dput ppa:contact-philipashmore/ppa *_source.changes
Checking signature on .changes
gpg: Signature made Fri 13 Jul 2012 07:32:11 PM IST using DSA key ID 60525D44
gpg: Good signature from "Philip Ashmore <email address hidden>"
Good signature on /v3c/dev/autobook/ubuntu/v3c-storyboard_0.2.0-04-1_source.changes.
Checking signature on .dsc
gpg: Signature made Fri 13 Jul 2012 07:32:11 PM IST using DSA key ID 60525D44
gpg: Good signature from "Philip Ashmore <email address hidden>"
Good signature on /v3c/dev/autobook/ubuntu/v3c-storyboard_0.2.0-04-1.dsc.
Uploading to ppa (via ftp to ppa.launchpad.net):
  Uploading v3c-storyboard_0.2.0-04-1.dsc: done.
  Uploading v3c-storyboard_0.2.0-04.orig.tar.gz: done.
  Uploading v3c-storyboard_0.2.0-04-1.debian.tar.gz: done.
  Uploading v3c-storyboard_0.2.0-04-1_source.changes: done.
Successfully uploaded packages.

Then I got this email:
Rejected:
The source v3c-storyboard - 0.2.0-04-1 is already accepted in ubuntu/precise and you cannot upload the same version within the same distribution. You have to modify the source version and re-upload.

So it's not deleted... or is it?

Laura Czajkowski (czajkowski) said : #3

It is deleted, but you cannot upload the same version again, if you increase the number it will upload.

There's a ball of wool in the processing center that a cat's been playing with.
To get around this ball of wool, I'm being presented with (and I can't believe it, with all seriousness) two contradicting facts.

1. It has been deleted
2. It's already accepted

Can someone please start up <insert favourite spreadsheet program here> and unmark the "deleted" checkbox for this package?
I'm not trying to re-upload a different release with the same version.

I understand that ppa users may have already downloaded this version.

I just want to clear that checkbox item that says this version is deleted - it needs no changes.

Hi Philip,

Your package is deleted but the indexes for the PPA still log that package's existence. PPAs do this so that it's not possible to upload the same version of a package twice; two different packages with the same name and version number would be confusing at best and, at worst, cause a package installation problem for your PPA's users.

So, it does look like we're telling you two different things but I hope you can now see why.

If you change the version number on your package you'll be able to carry on as before. We won't be able to remove the previous version from the log.

Thanks,

Matthew.

I guess we're talking about an interface change then.

I remember reading that the deleted packages would remain in the system for up to 7 days.
If there was a (ppa) user option to cancel the package deletion, then that would have solved my problem.

I figured that you guys undeleting a package that was still in your system would be easy.

I'm sorry it didn't turn out that way.

Can you help with this problem?

Provide an answer of your own, or ask Philip Ashmore for more information if necessary.

To post a message you must log in.