Commit after rename always transfers the whole file?

Asked by Joerg Lange on 2011-12-10

Hi,

is it correct that after I rename a file in a bzr controlled branch (using bzr mv filea.txt fileb.txt), that the complete file content is transferred again to the central repository?

In my case, I have done a checkout from a remote branch to a local directory. Then renamed a file, and then checked in again. Why is the complete file content transferred back again?

In Subversion, only the renaming itself was transferred. It does not make sense to transfer the complete file content, as the central server already knows of it...

Thanks
Joerg

Question information

Language:
English Edit question
Status:
Answered
For:
Bazaar Edit question
Assignee:
No assignee Edit question
Last query:
2011-12-28
Last reply:
2011-12-28
Launchpad Janitor (janitor) said : #1

This question was expired because it remained in the 'Open' state without activity for the last 15 days.

Joerg Lange (jcl-gmx) said : #2

Can anyone answer my question? If not, I would create a bug report. Thanks.

Jelmer Vernooij (jelmer) said : #3

Am 28/12/11 19:31, schrieb Joerg Lange:
> Question #181486 on Bazaar changed:
> https://answers.launchpad.net/bzr/+question/181486
>
> Status: Expired => Open
>
> Joerg Lange is still having a problem:
> Can anyone answer my question? If not, I would create a bug report.
> Thanks.
>
Ho Joerg,

Sorry, I haven't had much time to look into it and most people are on
holidays. bzr should indeed not be transferring the whole file, it is a
bug if it is. If you can create a bug report about it, that would be great.

Cheers,

Jelmer

Can you help with this problem?

Provide an answer of your own, or ask Joerg Lange for more information if necessary.

To post a message you must log in.