Why does the Delete icon next to new files not use the recycle bin?

Asked by Brendan Brewster on 2010-09-02

I've talked to a lot of users who have all deleted files by mistake and we all wondered why they weren't moved to the Recycle Bin instead of deleted permanently.

Cheers

Question information

Language:
English Edit question
Status:
Answered
For:
Bazaar Explorer Edit question
Assignee:
No assignee Edit question
Last query:
2010-09-02
Last reply:
2010-09-02
Martin Pool (mbp) said : #1

I assume this is in bzr-explorer?

I don't know a good reason why. It makes sense to me they should go to the trash.

John A Meinel (jameinel) said : #2

-----BEGIN PGP SIGNED MESSAGE-----
Hash: SHA1

On 9/1/2010 8:01 PM, Martin Pool wrote:
> Question #123724 on Bazaar Explorer changed:
> https://answers.edge.launchpad.net/bzr-explorer/+question/123724
>
> Linked to bug: #628561
> https://bugs.edge.launchpad.net/bugs/628561
> "delete should move files to the trash"
>

I will mention that 'bzr rm' does delete the files permanently, though
it will create a backup file in the same directory (foo.ext.~1~) if it
thinks the content is unrecoverable. (meaning 'bzr revert' wouldn't
restore it to the original contents.)

John
=:->

-----BEGIN PGP SIGNATURE-----
Version: GnuPG v1.4.9 (Cygwin)
Comment: Using GnuPG with Mozilla - http://enigmail.mozdev.org/

iEYEARECAAYFAkx/uioACgkQJdeBCYSNAAP0IgCfcK0gaqrvvRoZjxAdbulejmbu
d0EAmQGeRkfZYqpzwe0J/r/d07GfbaF3
=h46e
-----END PGP SIGNATURE-----

Can you help with this problem?

Provide an answer of your own, or ask Brendan Brewster for more information if necessary.

To post a message you must log in.