Why is a BootInfo pasted by default?

Asked by YannUbuntu on 2012-10-15

Why does Boot-Repair creates a new Boot-Info each time i use it?

Question information

Language:
English Edit question
Status:
Solved
For:
Boot-Repair Edit question
Assignee:
No assignee Edit question
Solved by:
YannUbuntu
Solved:
2012-10-15
Last query:
2012-10-15
Last reply:
YannUbuntu (yannubuntu) said : #1

The BootInfo Summary is a diagnosis report that helps detecting anomalies in your system or boot parameters. It is a kind of "instant picture of your system", it is not a backup.
On the forums, when your boot is broken, you will often be asked to indicate your Boot-Info, in order to help people understand your problem.

When using the "Create BootInfo" button, Boot-Repair will just create a BootInfo URL and displays its URL in its final window, without performing any repair operation.

When using the "Recommended Repair" button, Boot-Repair will perform all the repair operations which are enabled by default in the "Advanced options", then it will create a new BootInfo URL. This BootInfo may be useful if some problems remain after the repair (in this case, just indicate the URL to the people helping you on the forums), or if you want to know the detail (log) of the repair operations.

If for any reason you want Boot-Repair to do its "Recommended Repair" without creating any BootInfo report, simply untick the "Create BootInfo" option in the Advanced options.

If you want Boot-Repair to create the BootInfo report, but without pastebin it, simply disconnect internet when using Boot-Repair.