BleachBit Loses "Presets" Preferences

Asked by Varnus Zell on 2020-01-01

Hi,

I've noticed recently that BleachBit's GUI-selected cleaner preferences are lost from time to time. A log shows BleachBit starting from a crontab, giving a "Nothing to Do" message, and then exiting. If I check the GUI, all cleaner options are clear (unchecked).
Is this related to an automatic update or something inadvertently wiping a config?

There's no warning if --preset has no options selected and BleachBit does nothing, so this is a bit inconvenient.

Anyone had a similar problem?

Thanks!

Question information

Language:
English Edit question
Status:
Answered
For:
BleachBit Edit question
Assignee:
No assignee Edit question
Last query:
2020-01-01
Last reply:
2020-01-04
Andrew Ziem (ahziem1) said : #1

BleachBit doesn't automatically update itself, and software updates don't change the present selections. This could happen if (1) a user opened the GUI and unchecked all the options or (2) something reset the configuration stored in bleachbit.ini or (3) you run the GUI and crontab as separate users (like your personal account vs. root).

Do any of these seem likely in your case?

For what it's worth, you can make a backup of the bleachbit.ini file, and you could add a step to your crontab job to restore it from backup every time it runs. It's just the file ~/.config/bleachbit/bleachbit.ini

Can you help with this problem?

Provide an answer of your own, or ask Varnus Zell for more information if necessary.

To post a message you must log in.